top of page



The Jail Operations Division is responsible for providing a safe and humane environment for our residential inmate population, protecting the inmate population from victimization within the facility, and providing access to a system of due process internal to the facility.

This division ensures public safety by providing professionally managed jail services to inmates pursuant to judgments of the courts, provides protection for the public and staff, provides the court with pertinent information and effective services for use in pre-sentencing processes and decisions, and speaks with courts and attorneys concerning the jail and resolves problems or concerns.




The Court Operations Division is responsible for the security of the Gwinnett Justice and Administration Center (GJAC), Nash Court Building, Jail Courts, and the Gwinnett County Courts Annex (GCCA). This Division provides immediate emergency assistance and maintains a secure environment for court officials, personnel, and visitors.



The Field Operations Division is responsible for conducting investigations of criminal violations of the law, providing crime scene and evidence recovery services, and preparing case and incident reports. The Field Operations Division is comprised of four sections: Civil Process Section, Criminal Investigations Section, Mental Health Task Force, and Special Investigations Section.



The Support Operations Division strengthens community relations and trust; provides community related and crime prevention programs; ensures all inmates receive housing, counseling, job skills, substance abuse treatment, crime prevention, and intensive case management assistance upon release; provides operational support with issued vehicles, maintenance, food service, and information technology security; maintains collected evidence; maintains departmental records, entering law enforcement information into the records management system and database.

2022-01-19_SO_Sheriff Photoshoot_Day1 (150).JPG



The Administrative Services Division manages the fiscal processes, including budget and capital projects; recruits personnel and investigates complaints; conducts staff inspections; oversees in-service training for departmental personnel, promotions, legal matters, internal and external communications; handles the permitting function for specific businesses or individuals; maintains accredited status through the state certification program; and provides administrative support with payroll and human resources.

bottom of page